The Clay Minerals Society Student Research Grants

Application Deadline Monday, February 4, 2019

The Clay Minerals Society annually awards several grants of up to $3000 through its student research grant program. Membership to CMS is required to apply. Membership can be completed on-line or download an application Word or PDF file and follow the instructions. A membership number will be assigned and sent to you.


The Research Grant program provides partial financial support of research for students of clay science and technology.


Research Grant applications are judged on a competitive basis considering the qualifications of the applicant, the objectives of the research proposal, design of the research project and relation to Clay Science. Applicants selected will be nominated by a CMS Committee and approved by the CMS Council. The best grant application, as determined by the Research Grants Committee, will be the recipient of the grant titled the Robert C. Reynolds, Jr. Research Award. The award comes with a certificate and a free CMS membership for the following year.


Each applicant must complete a Research Grant Application available in hardcopy from the CMS Office or as a MS Word or PDF file. The applicant must obtain 2 confidential evaluations from two faculty members (forms included in application package).

Use of Funds

Individual grant requests may be up to $3,000. Grant money may be used for the costs of travel by the grantee to conduct research, room and board associated with research-related field work, or for the costs of equipment, supplies, and analyses required to complete the research. Grant money may not be used for expenses incurred for travel to professional meetings to represent the results of this research. However, we strongly encourage grant recipients to present their research results at a future CMS meeting, and to apply for a Travel Grant at that time if funding for travel expenses is needed.

Recipients may apply for grants in subsequent years; however, no individual may receive more than one renewal of a previously funded project, or more than two grants for separate projects in separate projects in separate years.

2018 Research Awardees

Brian Ares, Michigan State University, Paolo Benavides, University of Illinois, Laura Fackrell, University of Georgia, Yayu Li, University of Connecticut, Sarick Matzen, (Reynolds Award Winner for highest scoring Research Grant), University of California, Berkeley , Mark Peterman, Mississippi State University, Holly Turner, University of Portsmouth

Presented: 2018 CMS 55th Annual Meeting, University of Illiois at Urbana-Champaign, Illinios.

2017 Research Awardees

Jeffrey Hannon, University of Cincinnati, Timothy Henderson (Reynolds Award Winner for highest scoring Research Grant) , Purdue University, Sarick Matzen, University of California, Berkeley, Jimoh Monsurat Omolola, LAUTECH, Nigeria, Boyoung Song, Temple University

Presented: 2017 54th CMS Annual Meeting, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.