The Clay Minerals Society Student Travel Awards

Application Deadline Monday, February 4, 2019

Membership to CMS is required to apply. Membership can be completed on-line or download an application, Word or PDF file, and follow the instructions. A membership number will be assigned and sent to you.


The travel award program is designed to provide partial financial support for students to attend the annual meeting of The Clay Minerals Society to present results of their research.

Travel awards may not be used to support travel to other scientific meetings.


All student members of The Clay Minerals Society are eligible for the Student Travel Awards. Applications will be judged on a competitive basis. Applicants selected will be nominated by a five-member CMS committee and approved by the CMS Council. There are no restrictions with regard to nationality, gender or age. However you must be a member of the CMS to apply for a CMS Travel Award. Students may apply for both the Research Grant and Travel Award in one year. Students may receive no more than a total of two Travel Awards and two Research Grants. The applicant with the highest-ranked award application, as determined by the Travel Awards Committee, will be the recipient of the Blair F. Jones/Jane M. Flinn Travel Award. The award includes a certificate and an extra $500.


Each applicant must complete a Travel Award Application that is available in hardcopy from the CMS Office or as a Word or PDF file. The applicant must obtain a 1 page letter from your his/her advisor.

Travel Award applicants must submit their abstract to the meeting organizers as well as the CMS office!

Use of Funds

Travel Awards can be requested for up to $1000 per award for intracontinental travel or $1500 for intercontinental travel. Funds can be used to pay for: (1) meeting registration at the student rate, (2) field trip(s) that are part of the meeting, (3) CMS banquet ticket, (4) pre-meeting workshop, (5) travel, and (6) lodging. Expenses for meals (except for the CMS banquet) cannot be claimed. Travel funds will be reimbursed during or after the meeting for which the funds were requested. Reimbursement requests will require receipts to document expenses. Only allowable costs actually incurred will be reimbursed, up to the maximum amount awarded to the individual. (For example, if travel costs are less than originally anticipated, reimbursement will be for the actual travel costs, not the amount originally requested.)

Travel Award funds will be distributed to students at the annual banquet. Attendance at the banquet is required.

2018 CMS Travel Awardees

Awardees in Alphabetical Order: Javier Chaparro Barajas, Paolo Benavides, Ryan Bowman, Olga Dorzhieva, James Entwistle, Thomas Jeute, Shichao Ji, Monsurat Omolola Jimoh, Anna Koteja, Malgorzata Lempart, Yayu Li, Pan Liu, Samuel Perry, Mark Peterman, Ahmed Radwan, Karolina Rybka, (Highest ranking StudenT Travel Grant Blair Jones/Jane Flinn Award), Itamar Shabtai, Peng Yang, Chi Zhang
Presented: JUNE 2018 THE CMS Annual Meeting, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Illinois.

2018 List of National Science Foundation Travel Awardees

The National Science Foundation awarded student funding to CMS. The funds were awarded to students who were US citizens to attend the 2018 CMS Annual Meeting. The students who were awarded NSF funding were: Mary Arenberg, Aaron Betts, Ryan Bowman, Laura Fackrell, Thomas Jeute, Alex Kubler, Stephanie Napieralski, Samuel Perry, Mark Peterman, and Zebadiah Teichert